Signal box

I spent the first half of my birthday helping to lead another BSBI New Year Plant Hunt round Stamford. Thirteen botanists came along, including visitors from as far afield as Cambridge, Nottingham and Stamford. I found that I already knew two of them from Twitter. We stopped for coffee and mince pies at the home of a lady who lived in the town - she had a wonderful Georgian house full of eclectic antiques and memorabilia - fascinating.

We found 53 species in flower, including some new for the tetrad, and generally had a lovely day. I handed out chocolate brownie at the end of the hunt, as it was my birthday, and was rewarded with two rounds of 'Happy Birthday' in the car-park. I'm not sure what the other shoppers thought! 

I photographed some of the more interesting species, but liked this semi-derelict signal box at Stamford station better - apparently it used to be located further along the line but was moved to its current location by a railway buff who had plans to let it out as office space. It doesn't look as though that happened, but I'm glad it was saved from demolition.

In the evening five of us went for a celebratory meal at East -  a Pan-Asian restaurant located on an old barge. Splendid food and great staff made it an evening to remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.