Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fill the Frame

I have always enjoyed taking photos where the frame is totally filled with some sort of repetitive image.  Now that most of my images are of things in the Animal Kingdom, I don't have as many opportunities to use this technique.  However...when you are photographing something as large as a turkey, it becomes somewhat easier.  This image is just one small part of a male's back, where his wing feathers are starting to show.  The feathers on the toms' backs are iridescent and seem to change colors with the movement of light - mesmerizing, actually.  I took this through the window when the Gang of Six was on the patio and a snow flurry had just ended (hence the specs of fine snow on his back).  I am not including this in my YardBirds gallery as I intend to get a much better image to commemorate this species in 2020.  Stay tuned...

We had a Care Meeting at the home where MIL lives this morning.  They are really just wonderful there and have already taken steps to reduce the chance of future falls (she had two within a week).  We all tossed around some ideas, and had a few laughs about her lack of "filters."  One of the highlights of last year was getting her into this facility.

After the meeting, we went to the gym - I was so happy!  My first gym visit in 8 weeks.  I had to go very slowly on the treadmill - only did a half-mile which took 18 minutes.  But I know I'll slowly build back up to my 3 miles in 45 minutes.  I also hit the weights and was very pleased to find that I didn't lose much of my strength at all.  I had to reduce the weights a bit for my back, but triceps, shoulders and biceps were strong.  That said, I'm sure I'll be sore tomorrow.  Anyway, it was good getting back and I was welcomed with open arms by the Manager, which made me smile.

A scary time last night as Iran launched missiles at Al Assad Airbase in Iraq.  Hubs and I were glued to the news for several hours, holding our breaths.  Today, however, it seems that calmer heads may have prevailed and that an armed conflict can be avoided.   

Thanks so much for all the words of encouragement yesterday (and throughout my broken foot ordeal.)  I am taking all the advice to go slowly to heart, believe me.  And Hubs is keeping an eagle-eye on my, just to make sure I don't get ahead of myself.  Anyway, thank you all.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.