RIP

This is what this was about - a group of us outside the Oxford Farming Conference this morning drawing to attention to species extinction and loss of biodiversity as a result of farming practices. It was hard getting accurate information but several of our group spent a lot of time researching. 

After I'd taken this picture (appallingly blurred by Blipfoto - look large to see it properly) and reclaimed my post behind the butterfly gravestone, a man came up to me and said, 'I hope you don't mind me saying that you need to get your facts right. The chequered skipper butterfly did become extinct in 1976 but only in Northamptonshire. It's thriving in the north and is an example of successful reintroduction. I fully support what you're doing but I'm an entomologist.'

Dontcha just love Oxford?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.