Further my skills

By H0tamer

Schwabenkinder

Today, on my trip back from Prague, I heard the second part of a book. A major topic in the book were the "Schwabenkinder", in English "Swabian children". It was the first time I heard about them. In short: it were kids from Austria, Switzerland and Italy from poor parents, who were sold to peasants and big landowners to work for them during the Summer time. They walked hundreds of kilometres and then tried to find work on markets in cities like Ravensburg. Pretty sad information. The own kids had to go to school, so foreign kids, who were excluded from this, had to work instead.
My blip is from a small village in Southern Germany, but instead of poverty it shows children being idle or just playing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.