A place in time

By Verbosa

Homemade

Well, today I had my first attempt at a homemade cleaner...and I'm hooked!  The "recipe" was mixed in an empty spray bottle and I used a microfibre cloth to apply the solution:

~ 100ml softened water
~ 100ml vinegar
~ 13 drops of essential oil (grapefruit)
~ 1 drop of washing up liquid

I wanted to clean the bathroom tiles, which I did...then tried it out on my granite work surfaces, kitchen windows, UPVC window & door frames, stainless steel appliances, ceramic hob...

What fun!  The surfaces all seem to come up sparkling, although it has to be said the light was failing when I whipped round everything, so I do hope it isn't smeary in the morning (ha ha), but it's looking good so far.

The only downside is that the house now STINKS of vinegar!  Not a hint of essential oil, just vinegar (sigh).  Any suggestions for a better recipe will be warmly welcomed :)

Aside from that, I walked down into town earlier when it was beautifully sunny.  I returned a library book (I was only a couple of chapters in, but wasn't enjoying the story - too much bonking in storage cupboards for my liking! - so didn't want to waste any more time on that particular one), picked up a couple of things I'd ordered from M&S, returned a circular baking tray to TK Maxx that was too large for my microwave/combi cooker and picked up a copy of The Metro on the way home.

A successful day, eh?

Thought for the day:

"One of the lessons that I grew up with was to always stay true to yourself and never let what somebody else says distract you from your goals."  (Michelle Obama)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.