Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Rising Again

I’ve posted this place before in my journal. It’s where a white supremacist on public transit was threatening two women of color with a knife. Others came forward to defend the women, and the knife-wielding man killed two of them and injured a third. The space was used for a tribute and eventually was repainted as a message of hope and renewal. I made this photograph from a parking lot, through a rain-splashed windshield.

I’m also rising again. I woke with a migraine on Wednesday and tried a new medication that eased the headache but caused my pulse to plummet to 62 (compared to my usual 80) and took me out of action Wednesday and most of Thursday. My heart is trying to correct itself yet again, and I’m grateful for its strength. I won’t be using that medication again.

While I was laid flat, Bella’s team won all of the first three sessions of Batalla, Battle of the Books, a competition in reading comprehension. The school children (most of them older than Bella) answer, in spelling bee format, questions in Spanish about books in Spanish. I’m thrilled for her and sorry I missed it. Her team has now made it to the District level of competition which will happen on Saturday, Jan. 18th. I hope to be there for that one! 

I also missed having Baba Day with Evan.

There was another “Thawing ICE” walk around the ICE Building. I was too sick to make it, but Sue, who is still recovering from her bout with virus-induced asthma, was able to attend, though I think it set her back. We are doing our best to pull ourselves together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.