Chasing the light

By roseatkinson

On the wing

Discretion the better part of valour today as I decided to work at home and not risk going into London. Snow wasn't forecast here till mid-day but I know from bitter experience that when it snows, travelling home becomes a nightmare - we're 6 miles from the railway station and on one memorable day last year just that last leg took 4 hours - on top of the 3 hours it had already taken me to get that far. I made the right decision as the snow arrived much earlier than expected today and hasn't stopped since 7:30am. The flakes are getting bigger and are being blown around a lot by the wind so I suspct there'll be some impressive drifts developing on the exposed part of town up by the airport. Might go for a walk up there tomorrow.

So there I was watching the birds out of the kitchen window at lunchtime - loads of them today, hungry for all the peanuts they can get. I pressed the shutter as this little chap was sitting on the twig to the left, as you can see here ...then he moved. Damn I thought. Missed him ! Then I looked at the screen and couldn't believe what I'd captured... lucky shot ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.