Good Grief!

For the past few days I have been watching the young Eucalypts out in front of the living area turning a very distressing colour of brown!  I'm not sure whether they're just dropping their leaves to help them survive or they are in fact dying from lack of water.  It may also be something to do with the constant smoke haze that has invaded us for the past few weeks.

A couple of days ago I walked out to Wombat Rock for the first time since the fire emergency started, that's 6 weeks ago!!  I've been reticent to go out there because of the volatile situation we were facing.  Quite honestly, I was shocked by what I saw.  For those blippers who have walked to the rock you will also be dismayed I'm sure to see that so many of the native bushes are curling up their toes.  Some species seem to be doing better than others but sadly the banksias seem to be the hardest hit.  I think this image taken on my walk out there again this morning sums it up.  I will try and contact a clever person to see if they know what is happening.  I said to my friends on Thursday, "If I didn't know better I would think the Rural Firies had done a Backburn!!  I'll keep you posted.

More reasons I guess as to why the little wallabies are desperate for food as well as water.  If the bushes are dying then the grasses they usually feed off would be as well, or they've eaten everything in sight.
I recommend you view the LARGE version of this image :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.