Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Light Painting

The first activity of the day was badminton, then socializing over coffee. An enjoyable morning!

This month our Cumbria Wildlife Trust meeting was held in the afternoon to make travel easier for our speakers, who sometimes travel a long way,. This months speaker was Kate Jackson from Goslin Syke Nature Reserve speaking about the aims and creation of the site. This was associated with talking about a book, Lost Words by Robert Macfarlane. Words that today's child apparently doesn't know like acorn, otter, kingfisher. They are said to be able to name Pokemon characters much more easily than the names of natural things.

This all left me with a blip to do in the evening which suited me fine as I needed darkness to try out light painting. I've done the bit of illuminating things with a torch before, but not adding light as a subject in it's own right.

Earlier this week I saw chantler35's blip and then the same day as I saw AnnieAndChris's, by sheer coincidence I watched a tutorial from our photo magazine on the same subject. It even gave me ready-made screens (though you could easily make your own images for coloured screens) for my phone or tablet.

So, manual focus, manual settings, timer on and lights out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.