Snow day

Woke up this morning to find that the 'light dusting' of snow we had forecast overnight had actually been 2-3 inches, blanketing everything in pristine whiteness.

As I live 25 miles from the school where I work (and the route had been tricky enough yesterday) I was rather relieved when the message came through that, along with nearly 300 other Norfolk schools, ours would be closed today.

Now I appreciate that for many it is highly inconvenient when schools close and that, quite rightly, questions are asked about the legitimacy of such action. It is not a decision made lightly I assure you. The decision to close is ONLY taken when the safety of children and staff is at risk. Yesterday it took me twice as long as usual to get to work. It has in the past taken me 4 times the journey time and, on one infamous occasion a few years ago, it took me 6 hours (8 times the norm) to get home and I was shaking by the time I got in.

I KNOW that other work places stay open but in most cases it is down to the individual to decide if they need to risk the journey in. A teacher cannot take that decision unilaterally. And then there are those, like a good friend of mine, who are driving gritting lorries or buses or emergency vehicles. Perhaps taking all that school traffic off the roads is actually quite helpful to them.

So today was a 'snow day' and I dutifully togged up and poddled out to uncover birdfood, supply new and provide unfrozen water. I was rewarded by this little chap paying a visit. Not many other birds though. I think that there must be plenty of food on offer at the moment in the neighbouring gardens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.