Rude awakening

After a pretty hectic week I was in need of a good night's sleep. Then at 1.30 this morning i was dragged from my slumbers by a strange noise. Opening my eyes I could see odd flickering lights on the ceiling so got up and looked out of the window.

This was the sight I saw - not a usual event in my neighbourhood. Several onlookers were milling about and the police were in evidence. Billowing smoke was coming from the fire and, from the smell, it was obvious that it was a car fire.

Daylight showed a totally burned out car in the drive of the house 4 doors down from mine. Luckily for them the fence and shed hadn't gone up in flames too. It was also only a metre or so from the house wall. Had a visit from the police later on just asking if I'd seen anything suspicious so no idea what the cause of the fire might have been.

Not the most restful night's sleep but at least it wasn't worse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.