Bevosity

By bevwestwood

You really OTTER go to Minsmere!

Decided last evening that today would be best day of week to head down to Minsmere. The forecast promised fine weather and, if not sunshine, at least clear visibility. It was certainly a cold start with heavy frost on the car. Didn't get there quite as early as I planned but was on the reserve by 9.30.

Every time I have visited in the last few months it has been very windy so it made a pleasant change to have a still, though chilly, day. I was aware through tweets from the reserve that Otters had been sighted regularly and was hoping against hope that I might see one - I saw one at Minsmere several years ago but none since. I also hoped to see Bullfinches.

Headed straight into the woodland where there was lots of activity up in the canopy. Blue Tits already prospecting nestboxes, Great Tits making their presence heard, Coal Tits, Robins, Blackbirds, Crows, Rooks and Magpies. Caught a glimpse of the white rump of a Bullfinch but that was it. Closer to the Island Mere Green Woodpeckers were much in evidence (I saw at least 8 in total) and highlight was a Weasel bouncing its way through the grass. The mere itself was like glass, hardly a ripple. However, very little wildlife was on show. Mute Swans (of course), a Cormorant, distant Marsh Harrier and a brief flight by the 11 o'clock Bittern! But no Otter.

Headed back to the visitor centre for much needed refreshment before going off to the North Bushes. For some reason I seem to see very little on the trail through the trees but, as I exited onto the North Wall I noticed a couple with binoculars trained on the bushes. Low and behold TWO male Bullfinches! Such fantastically coloured birds. I was really chuffed. Made another circuit through the trail and spotted a Treecreeper and on exiting this time heard the unmistakeable haunting sound of Curlew as two flew into a the field. A few minutes later, 2 Bewick Swans also passed overhead. Could it get any better?

With an hour or so of good light left I retraced my steps to the Bittern Hide. A Littel Egret was doing its graceful thing in the pool and a Marsh Harrier put on a really good aerial display. Suddenly someone said, "There's an Otter!" Sure enough there was - in exactly the same place as I saw the one several years ago. It swam and dived towards us before going up the bank, across the path and into the reedbed. We held our breath. Then out it came again, so fleetingly but wonderful to see, across the channel before disappearing behind an island of reeds, reappearing briefly on the far side. I was SO pleased. Even more pleased that I managed to get a reasonable shot (this is heavily cropped) of such an elusive animal.

You really ought to go to Minsmere :-)

Link to other photos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.