Camel And Toe

My daughter bought me this boot jack for Christmas. I used it for the first time today as I have been wearing my easy to get off Aigles since I stubbed my toe last autumn. It has been so painful that I've been unable to wear my lovely short Le Chameau wellies until now. I think I probably broke or dislocated my little toe.

I love the inscrutable look in the camel's eye. I'm guessing that I've heard this poem before, though I don't remember it, and that's where 'inscrutable' comes from in my brain. :)

"The sexual life of the camel,
Is stranger than anyone thinks.
This weird and mysterious animal,
Has designs upon the Sphinx.

But the Sphinx is often hidden,
By the shifting sands of the Nile,
Which accounts for the face of the camel
And the Sphinx's inscrutable smile."

I was interested to discover that Le Chameau wellies were first made in 1927 by Claude Chamot in France. He set up a factory in Casablanca in 1949 and re-named his company Le Chameau with a nod to Morocco and relishing in the word play. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.