Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Road trash or not

I am reading a book by Rebecca Solnit called A Field Guide to Getting Lost.  Trying to keep an open mind about what she is saying and so far the book is pulling me in.

She says" The thing, the nature of which is totally unknown to you, is usually what you need to find and finding it is a matter of getting lost."

She talks about things being lost but also getting lost. "Lost has two disparate meanings. Losing things is about the familiar falling away.  Getting lost is about the unfamiliar appearing."     When I hike on trails that are new to me I think I definitely fall in the getting lost category even if I know where I am on a map.   Anyone who has walked with me knows that lost is a good description as my mind is 100% at the place I am.  I am in the moment and present where I am.

I have only finished the first chapter and it took a while as I had to go back and make notes.  I should have gotten a paperback copy so I could write in it and underline instead of the library book.   I might have to buy it!

This passage prompted my photos in the collage.   

"Sometimes while walking I catch sight of what at a distance looks like a jewel or a flower and turns out a few steps later to be trash. Yet before it is fully revealed, it is beautiful."      These words are true for me.   

The second chapter is called The Blue of Distance.   I might share some things from it tomorrow if it speaks to me and I can find a photo to match!    

Has anyone read this book?
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.