KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Crazy Day!

The day was really quite lovely on the whole. I had a reunion brunch with my traveling friends - the small group (from Portland) that I went to Portugal this past fall. A year ago we went to Italy. That, followed by an afternoon with the grandchildren at my co-grandmother’s house. Her house is large enough to accommodate a playroom for the kids so we meet there most every Saturday or Sunday afternoon. But the little two year old had a fresh cold - you can’t imagine the precautions I’ve taken to not get it.

So I’m going to give you a glimpse into my life :-) Last night Mr. K opened a bottle of wine - he’s got some nice ones stored away. It was a little iffy considering the winemaker. So he decanted it and vacuum sealed it - which apparently is normal. We figured we’d try it tonight - give it 24 hours.

We both left the house around 9:30 this am for our various rounds. Along about mid-afternoon he arrived back home and discovers that the wine decanter has quite literally blown up (see the extra) and wine and glass were everywhere - from floor to ceiling, kitchen cupboards, dripping, sticky, unbelievable mess.

I showed the photo of said decanter to my very smart 6 year-old granddaughter and she was fascinated. Being a bit of a scientist, we googled “wine decanter explosion” and learned that carbon dioxide can (that’s in italics) cause a wine bottle to explode. But this was a 10 year old bottle of wine! Go figure. So the other extra is of my granddaughter- she asked me to send Mr. K a text telling him to be careful not to cut himself. Adorable!

So that is all in saying that my blip tonight, taken when I got home from delivering the children back to their parents and spending the next hour helping Mr. K cleaning wine and glass from every nook and cranny in that end of the kitchen....is basically an emergency blip. Although it took me a good 20 minutes to find a place to set it up and make a semi-decent picture.

What I wanted to share is this lovely pot of bulbs that I bought from our local Trader Joe’s yesterday and the little daffodils are already open! Here the pot sits next to an amaryllis that will undoubtedly show up in future photos, and a completed jigsaw puzzle finished by yours truly.

Happy Saturday evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.