A new day dawns....

By Nicdawncav

A sunset run

Today has consisted of delivering two piano lessons, maths planning and a quick supermarket run. I didn’t feel I had it in me to get to the gym for my new found ‘run plus swim’ routine, but figured I could do my half an hour walk/run at my local park and cut out all the extra bits of driving, changing etc etc. I also wanted to see how it felt doing the run in the open air as opposed to on a running machine. I think I can safely say I prefer running it in the open air. I have found the perfect sound track to run to, a folk album called Beard Town by Sheelanagig, a band I came across from the Mark Radcliffe folk show on Radio 2. As a violin player it really gets my vibe going and a lot of the tempos are the perfect running pace. I snapped my photo mid run in my local park. I like the name Sheelanagig for a band but it does have a rather cheeky meaning when split into small words (Sheela na gig)... google it!

So today I am grateful for having a park on my doorstep and for finding the courage to get out and run without putting all the reasons why not to in my way. Week two of couch to 5k in the bag!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.