squirrels

It was warm and beautiful and completely wrong for winter. 

I was too exhausted to work yesterday so I had to work today...and now my head hurts. :-(  

But I had a lovely walk with Samuel. I brought my flash and flash extender. I was hoping I would see a deer. It would be great to practice the flash extender on something larger than a squirrel or a dove. A deer would be perfect. Of course, that means I won't see a deer, so I looked for squirrels. 

One of the things I've read is that a flash can help create catchlights and save you from lifeless eyes. I found lifeless eyes in pictures with and without the flash, and catchlights in eyes with and without the flash. The pictures with flash are slightly lower ISO, but not enough to make a difference in picture quality. The pictures with flash are warmer though. I figured out how to turn blue eye (deer equivalent of red eye) into white. 

I saw a child with a wonderful helmet with spikes along the top. I love whimsical helmets. The helmet had dinosaurs all over it. The pièce de résistance was his face painting! He put together the outfit himself. He does this most days. I admired so loudly that he asked his mother if he could show me Peter Rabbit, being transported in his backpack. They let me take a picture of him posing with Peter Rabbit AND I realized that I've actually taken his picture before, two years ago, when he was out with his dad. His father is a photographer and was very gracious about my taking a picture of his son. 


Into the week my friends! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.