elections

I had virtual coffee with someone in Uganda. They have an election coming up. He said the social media had been turned off and he was concerned the internet would be turned off. 

He said if the current president, Museveni, wins, people will riot. 
If he doesn't win, it will be impossible for the Electoral Commission to certify the real winner. 
So no option but to lose.
He said people are joking that Idi Amin saved everyone from this sort of stuff by just not having elections. 

It was so weird to be in a conversation like that and have both of us hoping the other one's country gets through this ok, and wincing about what our own country is going through.

I think that because Jan 6 is seen as a "success" it is emboldening lunatics and the violence coming will be much worse. I am just speculating, this is not an informed opinion. 

We have two more Congresspeople infected with Covid. One of the Republicans who refused to put on a mask made a snarky remark at the time, suggesting he'd go over and hug the person who was asking him to. I would have lost my shit on him. He would have run from the room and into the rioters. 

And this, ladies and gentlemen, is but one reason why I should not be elected to public office. 

Businesses are dumping Trump. Businesses are dumping politicians who insisted on challenging the electoral votes. Deutche Bank will no longer lend to Trump. PGA will not hold its golf tournament at his golf course. 

Cases of the flu are way down this year. 

Oh. Remember the car I'm giving away? Remember that DeJoy destroyed the Postal Service? I finally received all the paperwork I need so I can sign it over. They should own it tomorrow. My friend that I spoke with Saturday pointed out that, given that it was 22 years old, maybe it was time to get a new one anyway, 

Some tea and hugs for all of us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.