Wave dodging

Alison visits. She’s in fine fettle.

Megan and I leave her with Claire and head to Mapsie Den for a quick walk. The place is mobbed. The paths are muddy, but we don’t fall. As we come down, Claire calls to say that Cameron has fractured his foot snowboarding on the first day of the uni trip to Tignes. Ouch.

We stop in Kirkcaldy to charge the car. We count seven beggars, and even more closed stores, walking the pedestrian precinct. Which provided a stark contrast to the excellent veg/vegan cafe, The Bakers Field, where we had lunch.

Back in Kinghorn, Claire is out on exercise with the lifeboat. Megan and I miss the train we were planning to get and have to wait an hour. That leaves me with three hours to kill in Edinburgh. I go to the Filmhouse and watch Jojo Rabbit, which is touching, shocking, and hilarious.

I have a quick, drunken conversation with Dave at the Tollcross bus stop, waiting for the 101. Then a slightly longer, sober conversation with Bill at Dolphinton. He gives me a lift home in his van, and we slide round the Needle, which is icing up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.