Friday Foto

By drmackem

Laura and Bob

The miseducation of......

A Photo
Laura.
About 18years ago university friends used our home whilst we were on holiday, they arrived the evening before our departure so we could spend some time with them. Laura their 7 year old daughter had cancer, was in remission and that evening lit up our lives with her energy and love of life, the memory of it still takes my breath away. 
Whilst away we bought this picture as it reminded us of her and a joy which drew others in. Eight weeks later she had passed, the picture, my memory of that evening is a reminder of her and to notice and enter into the joy of the moment, it’s what we have.
 
A Tune
There can really be no best or favourite track of his for me, different moods, different times of life etc, but todays track is near perfection for me. 
Every Grain of Sand the last track on the Shot of Love Album makes the rest of the album ordinary. So simple, 3 cords and a harmonica riff, unusually for Dylan in E flat. The words stand alone as poem, or as Bono would describe a Psalm. I’ve kept coming back to it over the years and keep find something else. It sometimes seems to speak to my complete certainty in faith and others to my complete uncertainty in faith. Sometimes it connects with my love of life, at others my confusion and sadness of what life can sometime become. Much of Bobs work includes searing insights into others and the world, this turns the lens around. For me this is a masterpiece which will keep on showing me something new for years yet. 
(One for my funeral playlist)

Every Grain of Sand by Bob Dylan
 
I have gone from rags to riches in the sorrow of the night
In the violence of a summer's dream, in the chill of a wintry light
In the bitter dance of loneliness fading into space
In the broken mirror of innocence on each forgotten face

I hear the ancient footsteps like the motion of the sea
Sometimes I turn, there's someone there, other times it's only me
I am hanging in the balance of the reality of man
Like every sparrow falling, like every grain of sand

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.