The second half of life..

By twigs

Daisy

Did some more cleaning - this time with an alternative product to the expensive 'Hit The Deck' I'd used for the decks.  Today it was the turn of a couple of small tables that were made from left-over decking.  One in particular was very blackened from algae and general crud.  The product I had sourced is sodium percarbonate - apparently exactly the same product as HTD minus all the advertising and hype.   HTD - 1.7kg for $65........sodium percarbonate (from Auckland) 5kg for about $32 delivered!!

I have to admit, I was a little sceptical about how effective it would be, even more so when I accidentally got the water-to-powder ratios wrong and mixed up something that was only about 2/3 the strength it should have been.  Anyway - sprayed the tables well, went indoors for a cuppa for half an hour to let the mixture do it's thing then attacked the tables with the same scrubbing brush I'd used on the deck.  The tell-tale part is when you hose all the crud and gunk off after it's been brushed............wow!!!  I was absolutely stunned.  Even the blackest of the tables looks like it's (almost) new timber.  Amazing.  Tomorrow I will attack the underside of the tables and they - hey-ho - two almost new-looking garden coffee tables.  Woo hoo.  It pays to shop around and do some research.

And today's image has absolutely nothing to do with any of that........just a play in the garden with some glass and vaseline.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.