The Wofflings Of A Doris

By DorisOrDwagon

Twinkle, twinkle little star...

How I wonder.... how on earth I missed you hanging over the fireplace from Christmas?? It's definitely not perfect, but I'd nothing else to blip other than a photo of my tatty 'creation' and at least 40 rubbish photos of a Geisha.

So today was spent mainly working and being 'creative' with a cardboard box. I have a colourfully painted, wooden, Geisha type ornament which I found in a charity shop before Christmas for £1.50. She sits on my desk and I've had a thing about photographing her for a while, but if you stand her in natural light the windows reflect in the glossy paint.

When I finished my work, I decided to look up on t'interweb how to make a lightbox/tent. Found I had most of the stuff required: cardboard box, white paper, sellotape, an old sheet, Stanley knife etc and spent a couple of hours hacking and sticking before realising I probably needed at least 3 daylight bulbs and lamps too. Thought I could surely improvise with my desk lamp, one off camera flash and an led light. I then spent a frustrating and pretty unsuccessful evening laid on the floor behind a chair, listening to Winterwatch and trying to photograph the Geisha in my lightbox, which was my planned blip.

Thought perhaps the very reflective surface was too much of a challenge without the proper lighting and looked around the room, a bit more thoroughly (desperately?) than usual for something else to try out in the tent - that's when I spotted the stray, dangly, gold star.

Magazine update: It sounded promising from the cover so when I thought I was half way through yesterday, by the time I'd skipped the adverts and camera reviews there wasn't anything left to read. Back to bedside pile clearance then...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.