TMac

By TMac

Dear Life

I was lucky enough to receive a preview copy of this amazing book to read.

I've been following Rachel Clarke on Twitter for some time now.
She is an insightful and intelligent writer, and a fierce defender of the NHS.

Her first book "Your Life in my Hands" was brilliant; really well written. It is a gritty depiction of the stresses the NHS is under. It describes how utterly up against it NHS staff are due unforgivable government policies.

"Dear Life" follows her story as she enters medicine as a second career and how she finds herself drawn to palliative care.

Written with passion, she makes death less frightening whilst focusing on the many positives of hospice care. She tells us of the amazing staff striving to ensure that every second of every life matters. She shares some wonderfully human stories including her own.

I had to put the book aside at times as she has such a talent for drawing the reader in to the emotional moment.

I would read it again tomorrow if I wasn't intending on passing it on to a GP friend who I know will enjoy it just as much as I did.

I know I sound like a book reviewer but death is something none of us will escape. Reading this book will make you understand how there can be comfort and inspiration in the face of sadness.

Last comment - buy it or get it on loan from the library. I believe it is due to be released on January 30th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.