jeffpaps

By jeffpaps

Nostalgia trip.

On Monday my sister and I went over to see our step mother. After my dads death she is trying to sort through all his accumulated possessions. By their own admission both Dad and his wife were hoarders.
In particular they have a lot of battered old books. Whilst sorting through the loft room, that at one point was my teenage bedroom we found two boxfulls of Biggles books. To the uninitiated Biggles was a fictional airman who flew during the first and second world wars and was a creation of WE Johns . He was my hero growing up and I think I have read all his books. Initially they were read to me by my Dad who seemed to enjoy the stories as much as i did. Subsequently i obsessionally searched for titles missing from my collection ( pre internet days).
Now they are back with me. Not sure what I will do with them but it would be rude not to read at least one to compare OAP tastes with that of my childhood.
Grateful today for rediscovering Biggles, for a good pain free exercise regime and listening to some of my old vinyl records....yes nostalgia time indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.