Umbrellas

The mini jetlag you get from moving two hours to the east is still getting to me. I'm very tired in the evenings, but find it rather hard to get to and in particular to stay asleep. The bedroom here is a little too warm even though we keep the window open during the day (not at night as it's a bit too noisy for that). But then getting moving in the morning when it doesn't even get light until 9am (and today it didn't really get light at all....) is pretty tough.

Today, we took a detour, or I took a detour, to go to Stockmann with Mr A for a couple of items we need (notably a sharp knife to leave here). We passed Tampere's 'classical high school', and we were both amused to see all of the umbrellas on top of the lockers through the windows. It had to be my blip. A bit of colour on an otherwise horribly dreich day.

In the afternoon, I went to the University gym and went on a cross trainer for the first time since my operation. While I'm not back to where I was when I started going to the gym in Helsinki more than two years ago, I'm certainly not yet back to where I was in September of last year. But since I hadn't been feeling too bright since arriving in Tampere, it was quite an effort of will to get myself there.

Most of the day was spent tidying up various peer review bits and bobs. The copyedited files have arrived back from the publisher for my book. I will spend the next few days checking these, so I needed to clear the decks of post-new year neglected obligations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.