Samba Sene

First thing, to the surgery for them to steal some blood. It's left me with a massive bruise in the crease of my elbow. I then stopped at Artisan on the way up the Walk for a belated breakfast (having been ordered to fast). Excellent avo and egg on toast. On the way past, I noticed that the "wet pants" sign had been adjusted for greater decency. Surely by now the paint must be dry? Coffee with ZB (and a postponed PhD supervision), plus some good hours in the office.

After dinner, we wandered over to Ferry Road to see Samba Sene at the Leith Folk Club. It's years since they moved to the Victoria Park Hotel from the Village, which was too small as a venue. Somehow we've never managed to get to a gig. Yesterday was excellent. Stomping good live music in the middle of the week, within easy walking distance. Loads of people were dancing. It was quite something.

Topping it all off, I won the raffle. Twice! I haven't won a raffle in I don't know how long, and this time two tickets came out. There was a nice bottle of Australian wine for the first ticket, but I asked them to redraw for the second.

In the middle of all that, something was happening in London. It was relatively easy to keep it in the background.

I don't, however, think we are out of the woods yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.