Friday Foto

By drmackem

Reflections

The miseducation of....

Musing
Yesterday I wrote in my diary for today, Be Kind, Be Present, – wise words this morning from my former self. 
Today’s work of love is a long day attending to my doctor colleagues with mental health problems, yes, sometimes doctors aren’t so good at healing themselves.
Being still not weight bearing properly on the post op foot, not able to drive I’ve moved around by taxi and had the mostly lovely chat this morning with the taxi driver about kindness to others, care to the marginalised, and how our faiths, his Muslim, mine Christian orientate us this way. This was a casual encounter which made me glad almost of my temporary disability, well if not glad grateful for todays unintended consequence. The taxi back home was taken up with a conversation of gratitude about the beauty of the day and the countryside that with both live in. I’m wondering if my intention to be present changes what others say – the answer I so know is yes.
Kindness to myself is a work in progress, but in the midst of busyness today I found space for lunch (doctors mostly don’t do lunch) out, I wondered if it was indulgence but in a double blind cross over trial which I’ve yet to run, but know the answer, it was kindness to me in a way that became kindness to the afternoon and evening of patients.
Come the revolution doctors(and nurses) will always have lunch and be taken to and from work by kind and wise taxi drivers and I’ll then be able to have the day off.

A Tune
Valerie - Amy Winehouse no story with this one, none needed, it stands on it’s own, but as I post this I’m thinking she was such an outstanding artist, so talented, so troubled, so beautiful – I hope if only briefly she knew how amazing and special she was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.