Carpe diem

By EveryDayMatters

EveryDay Ideas 14 - Geordie Culture

I had a great time the other night, all for £6 - sitting amongst a couple of thousand young Geordie Newcastle united fans in the traditional Gallowgate end. It was so funny, as they were there for the fun - literally. Not the usual bunch of home fan cynics who have paid £800 for season tickets. We won 4-1, a glorious victory against Rochdale. Even our goal less no 9 managed to score, the first time since August !!

Being an adopted Geordie, I could only make out around 50% of the supporter chants and songs. So, my idea for improvement in my ability to participate would be for someone to invent a translation app for my mobile phone. This could listen to the crowd and then translate the songs for me - into understandable English. Mind you - there are probably a lot of unsavoury words and sentiments sometimes. So buyer beware...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.