sound II

I spent a long time in Winchester Cathedral this morning. For an hour and a half I was the only person on a guided tour, so I learned a lot. I then retraced my steps and took many photographs, before visiting the new permanent exhibition, "Kings & Scribes", which includes the 12th century Winchester Bible and the Morley Library.

This sculpture by Antony Gormley is in the crypt, which floods after heavy rain. It moved me more than I had expected, a figure alone in the dark, pondering the mysteries of existence.

It was hard to tear myself away from this beautiful place, but my ticket is valid for a year so I might well return. 

Before leaving Winchester, I visited the Winchester City Mill, which was just next to my hotel. On reflection, the 24 hours I spent here have been very watery, in one way or another. I had to dry out my clothes twice last night after walking about in torrential rain from hotel to evensong to pub to cinema (1917).

I was very late getting back here because of a landslip on the railway line, so it's past midnight now. Time to zzzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.