Capital adventures

By marchmont

Koh Lanta - the Happiness Island

The last time I agree dinner in a restaurant like this, was in Monterey in April 2010 and a seagull attacked me. Luckily no repeat tonight.

A travelling day. I was at Chiang Mai airport far too early but it was restful reading my book. I've finished 'The Physic Garden', recommended, and move on to Sandy McCall Smith's take on 'Emma'.

Bangkok Airways is a 'boutique' airline. Boutique is a much used word here and it does mean you get food. Won't be the same on AirAsia back to KL next week.

Krabi is an even smaller airport, but it is being extended, I guess for larger international planes.

My plan is to relax here. So far I'm struggling. I read the reviews for airport transfer and shouldn't have and didn't read the reviews for the hotel, and perhaps should have. Suffice to say I had a lovely, but expensive, minivan ride to Saladan, as sole passenger, and in a hotel, that well let's say isn't 5, 4 or perhaps even 3 star. But I wanted somewhere within walking distance of the town and it certainly is, loads of shops and restaurants. And this is a holiday resort so a different kind of place from Bangkok and Chiang Mai. But I'm wondering why I didn't go back to Langkawi, effectively the next island South. Because you should never go back?

So now of better concentrate on relaxing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.