Today's Special

By Connections

Duo

Casting about for something to blip inside our house, as my protracted recovery from flu deterred me from going outside, I chose these small carved elephants that Phil had brought home from business trips to India some years ago.

He went to India 22 times over a six-year period toward the end of his long career at Boeing. I went with him on one of the later trips, and found what little of India I saw both fascinating and overwhelming. 

The figure on the right represents the Hindu god Ganesh. It's an elegant little statue, rich in detail, about 3 inches/ 7.6 centimeters tall. 

It's the simpler, smaller elephant on the left that I really love. Take a careful look at the extra photo to see her precious cargo... there's no break or "seam" in the wood, so how was this done?

Blip 2042

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.