Thoughtful

When I first started work at Falmouth’s ‘in town department store’ I worked as part of the security team. I was fortunate to work under a real gentleman, Jon, and I mean gentleman in every sense of the word, he takes an interest in those about him and if you do right by him he will do the same.
We became friends.

Despite my protestations each Christmas and birthday he goes out of his way to give thoughtful gifts and as I was tidying today I was pondering where to put my latest, a napkin ring.

The picture shows a letter written by Admiral Lord Jellicoe, Commander of the British Naval Forces at the Battle of Jutland in 1916, the napkin ring made from some of the timber decking of HMS Iron Duke his flagship at the battle and a wooden paper knife also from the timbers of the Iron Duke.

They are treasured gifts and mementos from a treasured friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.