The second half of life..

By twigs

Goldfinch

I saw him for the first time a couple of days ago and was thrilled when he returned yesterday........but to see him here again today was very special.

In another bird story today, I went into the van to take a few bits and pieces and to see if there was any 'action' following yesterday's trojan effort and I heared a chirp.  It sounded very close......I Iistened more closely.......it sounded like it was coming from the roof.  I wanted to see if it was a fledgling from yesterday so headed out of the van, into the house and upstairs so I could look down on the van roof........nothing :(  'Must've flown off' I thought. 

Back downstairs, I skirted around the outside of the van, at one point accidentally knocking on the window.  I almost jumped out of my skin when a bird appeared on the other side of the window, flapping furiously trying to get out.  It took just 2 minutes to corral the wee thing and free it but I didn't actually look closely at it to see if it was a youngster.  I think it must have been and, on his inuagural flight, managed to fly straight into the van's open window!  Yesterday's action has been noticably absent today - another reason for me thinking that it must have been a youngster from the nest.  Hope it's OK after it's very unusual experience.

Rest of day was spent doing a little tootling, packing, watching tennis, watching cricket........I'm off tomorrow all being good.  At least my blip subjects will become more varied!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.