a lifetime burning

By Sheol

La centésima día

I read with interest today that speaking a second language protects the brain against mental decline.  I've been trying to learn Spanish for 100 days now.  The progress is slow, but I'm gradually learning a little more every day and (hopefully) building on the previous days and weeks of lessons. 

I really need to sort out a conversation class, and once I do finally retire I won't have any excuse for not getting that arranged.  Despite this, I have been really enjoying the process of gradually unlocking the (easier) secrets of speaking a new language.  

I'm delighted to say that I am not at work next week.  Next week is therefore a week's holiday.  One of the last holidays I will get - I say this because one cannot really have a holiday from retirement, and as my work colleagues keep commenting, at that point my life will just be one long holiday....  I'm not entirely convinced ....

Yesterday's Blip - was an extreme close up of a Leatherman Wave multi-tool (we used to call them pen knifes back in the day!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.