a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Shapes

Abstract Thursday

A shot of a Rubik's cube and the 6 abstracted shapes it has given rise to.  Each pattern has been created using a mirroring filter with 8 mirrors.

The original cube was mine and purchased many years ago back in the early 80's when they were in vogue.  I did manage to solve the thing eventually but I needed a guidance - someone kindly introduced me to a single page of instructions which actually allowed me to complete it.  Without those instructions I don't think that I ever got further than having 2 sides solved on my own :-)

Unfortunately, when my daughter Jess was. much younger, she and one of her friends decided that it would be a great idea to move the coloured stickers and "solve" the cube that way - which is why some of the stickers are no longer quite straight any more.  I suspect that the cube is also no longer capable of being solved as a result - which makes me wonder why we still keep it.  

Perhaps it is so that I can tell Jess's kids what a naughty girl she was when she was their age?  The parent's ultimate revenge!  Although, as Jess is currently in doing a PhD it is likely to be quite some time before that opportunity will arise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.