Flying Ice

On my way to Fairhaven this afternoon, I stopped at Lake Padden Park for a few minutes to see what the ice on the lake looked like. I took some scenic shots, but they were flat without Dramatic Tone, and that was too extreme for what I was seeing. A couple canoeing across the ice -- making quite a noise! -- caught my eye, but they were too far away for my camera to capture well.

Then a group of five young women came up near me, and the one wearing wellies walked out into the frigid lake shallows and started stomping on some of the ice. She was the first to toss do an ice toss -- you can see it in the air here, as well as today's blip subject winding up for her toss. Smart phones were much in evidence, so I wouldn't be surprised if there is now a YouTube video or two of their winter play!

They were still going strong 15 minutes later when I decided to check out the narrow end of the lake, which doesn't get much sun this time of year. The golden reeds made a beautiful contrast to the rough, thick ice.

For sheer beauty, I prefer that calm image -- but for playful energy, I couldn't resist today's blip of the ice disk flying free from a fine launch!

(Phil went to Lake Padden later in the afternoon and has a gorgeous blip!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.