CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Newnham on Severn salmon fishing heritage centre

I'm involved with a project to assess whether an old and rather derelict building near Longney might be worth trying to renovate and whether we can find a new purpose for it. It is thought to be a remnant, generally known as a 'fish house', of the fishing industry on the tidal parts of the River Severn in Gloucestershire. I knew that there are a few other 'fish houses' on different stretches of the river and for a meeting with the new owners I went to take some pictures as references to what one of these buildings looks like, when in good condition.

I knew the weather would improve and decided to drive to Gloucester where the nearest bridge allows access to the west bank of the River Severn, close to the Forest of Dean. I passed another fish house near Minsterworth, and then went through Westbury and on to the historic former port of Newnham on Severn. Just before the road left the river bank, to enter the town built on a small hill, I parked beside the river.

A short walk along the very wet and muddy flood prevention bank, lead me to the heritage centre which now appears to be permanently closed. It looks to have been well repaired and has an information board branded by the Environment Agency, which gives me a possible lead for me information. 

Being by the river is always a delight especially with the sun shining and a swirling high tide receding fast bringing this distinctive scene alive even in mid-winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.