The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Tangle

Gus and I stood on the top of the Knott and watched the sun rise this morning. This was about 10 minutes later when it had climbed above the small clouds on the Bowland Fells horizon. The trees on the Knott edge have had some storm damage in recent years as the shattered stumps show. I waited for a few minutes to see if the magpie that was calling to the right would oblige me by flying through the trees, but he didn't and I was getting dazzled by the strengthening light.  It was to be a lovely bright day, a bit colder than lately with light sleet on the ground on the hill top.

We had a day close to home, conserving energy of all kinds. Wifie's good friend M was visiting, and they were making cakes while I finished off my inventory of veggie seeds. I've also been going through recommended potato varieties, so we won't be too outfaced by the huge variety on offer at tomorrow's Potato Day.  I spent an hour at the allotment and discovered that the parsnips have produced a much better crop than I had thought when I unearthed a few knobbly, forked runts a few months back. I had written them off, but today found some that were a foot long and perfectly shaped. Baked parsnips tomorrow night, I think.

Alas, I'm still feeling very fatigued, a hollowed out sort of feeling that I used to get a lot three years ago. I'm guessing this is a virus, as until earlier this week I have been feeling stronger and fitter than at any time since treatment in 2017. It's a bit too sudden otherwise. I have a blood test and haematology appointment in the next two weeks, so we shall see what, if anything, is going on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.