2013: A Photo Odyssey

By Aoraki

Jewels of the Nile

The agapanthus is an introduced species here in Australia. Also known around the world as the "Lily of the Nile".

It has masses of small blue/violet trumpet shaped flowers, and flowers during the summer months (late November through early February) It's favoured here because you can't kill the things with a stick. They are drought tolerant, heat tolerant, salt tolerant, run-over them with a water-tanker tolerant...

I've dug them out of the ground to transplant, and left them in a pile roots-upwards. For 9 months. (I wasn't being deliberately cruel -I just forgot about one pile). And still they survived. After WWIII there will just be cockroaches and Agapanthus...

Anyways, as you might be able to tell, he Sydney outdoors is more than survivable today. It's actually temperate and raining. So I thought I'd blip these sparkling jewels enjoying their drink :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.