McIntoshes Rocks

Nothing much happening at McIntoshes Rocks or the mouth of the Waimakariri river mouth (visible approximately 2km away).

McIntoshes has a huge hole extending out from the rocks. Salmon often sit there for a break after entering the river as they adjust from salt to fresh water. In the right conditions it's hugely popular with people fishing from the rocks, moored boats and kayaks. I imagine tempers can get frayed.

Our plan was a later afternoon fish but the river is still running just a little too dirty. A few others were trying but with neither Salmon, Sea-run trout or Kahawai around we decided we were better off having a beer in the heat. So we did :-)

I'm pretty much sorted for tomorrows climb of Mt Enys. I expect a long day. However this pales into significance compared with the planned trip for late next week. All going well my 1500th blip might happen on top of a rather large mountain. But we won't count our river crossings, blisters or ice axes just yet.

The 60th wedding anniversary for Mum and Dad is underway. That's good.

I have little house work done. That doesn't matter.

I have a few things still to do tonight. I'd better get a move on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.