On frozen pond! 2.50 p.m,

Well, not quite! 
The day started off with another piercingly blue sky and a heavy frost, on the roofs and in the gardens.   
Both of our birdbaths have remained frozen all day.
I do have shallow dishes as well in sheltered spots in the garden which escaped the freezing process.
I had to go to a walk in Health Centre last night at 7.00 pm.
Our local Medical Practice closes at the weekend but there are two Out of Hours Clinics in our area which remain open for anyone who really needs to be seen.
I knew I would have to phone by late  afternoon.
Unfortunately I have developed an infection, which is probably why I felt unwell on Friday, 
I was the last person to be seen, at 8.00 pm, as this particular Centre does not remain open all night, like the one situated at our local hospital. 
We then went to a Pharmacy,  open till 9.00 pm,  which was en route back home, at a 24 hour Tesco Supermarket. 
Very thankful to all these people who work long hours. The young lady doctor who saw me at the Clinic was very pleasant. There were 3 others also on duty.  
Eventually replete with antibiotics, we were home again. 
   I have had a very slow day today. 
I didn't get up till lunch time, having had a restless night.  
        Later this afternoon I wrapped myself up to walk up to the top of the garden. It was too tempting to miss all that sunshine and piercingly  blue sky! I wanted to find a photo for a Blip, as well as having the benefit of being outdoors for a very short period . 
Another photo in extras. 
Stephen has now gone to church, for the  5.30 p.m. service. 
I'll have another cuppa soon, then see if I can stay awake for 
    "The Trial of Christine Keeler"  at 9.00 p.m. on BBC 1. 
I was 15 years old when all that scandal erupted. We were on holiday as a family in Torquay, having rented an apartment for a week  
 One morning there were lots of people looking at an apartment further down the road. It transpired it belonged to Dr. Stephen Ward, 
     Times are different now, and those two young girls, 16 and 18, were exploited and used by older men, from the higher echelons of society. 
     The view in the '60's was that they were just really the lowest of the low and there for the taking. 
It is for me, like watching a shocking piece of history from a completely different angle.    
Now it really is time for a cuppa! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.