Sunburst lichen

On Sundays I usually try to have a Blip image before I start looking at the Abstract Thursday entries of the past week. I was doing a round of the garden with my macro lens as I'm doing a month long of macros or at least close-ups and I'm also trying to keep a weekly journal of what is growing in the garden this year. Today I noticed all the spring bulbs are starting to push through the first shoots , the snowdrops are almost ready to bloom, the catkins are in full bloom and then I noticed this very yellow lichen on the hibiscus shrub and thought it was marvellous for a close-up. Tried to look it up to find out that like all the other lichens they do indicate reasonably clean air, but also that the yellow ones are appearing more and more especially in rural environments where there's much cattle farming, fertilising and thus ammonia in the air.

And then I found out two of last Thursday's AT entries were of this yellow lichen or Xanthoria parietina ! So it's everywhere, from Germany, The Netherlands to the United Kingdom ! Thanks so much for all the Abstract Thursday entries ! This coming Thursday the optional theme will be 'nature' and the tag will be AT239.

Here's the list of last week's 5 specials:
Freuchie                      for creating a very different view on a measuring tape
Honeycombebeach  for a great thistle fluff creation
MrsLinda                    for a beautiful totally natural abstract
gordo                          for a very close-up view of a traffic sign
PaiviPuu                     for intriguing patterns in a wall

Thanks very much for the kind comments, stars and even faves for yesterday's bunch of tulips !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.