A day in the life

By Shelling

Ancient history

One of the reasons I like living here on Öland is the rich evidence of a long,  historic period of people living here from early hunters some 6000 years ago, following the edge of the ice  moving north, till today. 

I've been here over  three years now but never visited one of the ancient monuments close by. It's called "Karlebystenen", 'The Karleby rock', one of the most remarkable rune stones in Sweden. It dates from about AD1000, and was raised at a time of transition between the Aesir faith and Christianity. It contains a poem, written in runes, the only poem surviving in its original form describing "a king of the sea strong in battle", who was likened to Odin.

That became the walk of today, not a very long one because of strong winds and low temperatures and  I'm still not fully recovered from my cold around Christmas and so I haven't started working out at the gym yet but I do continue with the 30 day yoga course on the web which gives me a very good body awareness and I can do it at home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.