... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Clapham Common Bandstand

I prefer this in large: the cast iron detailing is quite interesting!
I was torn between blipping this, a coot begging for bread (looking positively friendly!), and various pictures of gulls on the wing. I'm blipping this because it is least easily reproducible (I can not yet summon snow on demand...).
I went to photograph my mother feeding the birds, and it was a wonderful visit today: there was snow on the ground, and ice on the pond, and the birds were coming very close. The coot, gulls, and geese all took food out of my mother's hand; the gulls would take it whilst hovering!

Wikipedia tells me that this bandstand was constructed in 1890, and is the largest in London. My mother tells me that it was the site of many a happy hour cycling in circles (around it) when I was a child. I have many vivid memories of a bandstand as a child, but didn't know where it was until I started visiting Clapham Common more frequently last year (which happened to be around the time that the Egyptian geese had 9 goslings...), and stumbled across it when ambling between two of the ponds. It has changed since we used to visit it; it used to have steps leading up to it, but was renovated in 2005/6 at which time its surroundings were landscaped, and the mount built up around it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.