Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Icing Dock Fit-up

I have built the N scale ice dock and wanted to see how it fits.  Thankfully it does.  I put a refrigerator (ice) reefer car on the track just to check the height and clearance.  The platform is a little high but OK.  I do need to add the drop-down planks that the workers would slide the ice blocks over from the dock into the ice bunkers at each end of the car.

I still have to paint the dock structure (spray) with solvent based paint to seal it, then spray the final color.  As well, I need to paint and build the two little structures that go up on the to decks that extend out.  Also the stairway down.  I am going to use the same painting technique that I used on the S scale freight house - maybe red walls and green window frames.  Not sure yet.  The deck may end up white with lots of weathering.  

The kit is from Bar Mills.  Incredibly fragile.  Scale lumber in N scale is like hair.  OK - think hair.  But it went together pretty well following the instructions with only one broken part - rolled over it with my work chair.  .  Three cheers for Eileen's Tacky Glue and the syringe applicator.

I also decided that since the left small platform/building is where the ice was to be made - is way too small.  So I am currently scratch building a two story ice plant that will go next to the little platform to provide the ice blocks.

The extra is from the Sn3 layout and is the final scene of the freight building.  I think I need a fat guy sitting on one of the benches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.