Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Trucks and Crawlers

I put the finishing touches and weathering on my farm truck on the N scale.  The model is 3D printed by Wheels of Time.  They also did the crawlers in the extra.  This is N scale - 1:160.  The detail is really amazing.  I washed the models, primed them, and air brushed the final paint.

Now all I need is to build the farm house, barn, and silo.  But at least they have a truck now.  Out of order I guess, but the air brush was charged up so I painted them.

One thing I have not tried before is Kristal Klear.  It is a sticky think white glue like substance.  Get some on a toothpick and starting on the edge of where the windshield goes, you sort of drag it around in circles until the window is covered.  Overnight it drys clear.  Until I hit it with some dirt weathering.  Easy.  Way easier than cutting a piece of clear window material.

The crawlers needed almost no flash cleaning before cleaning and shooting the paint.  I guess three 20 ton crawlers is a little too much for the old flat car so maybe I need another flat.

Take a look at Wheels of Time.  http://www.wheelsotime.com. Amazing models in N and HO scale.  I met the head of WoT  at a train show and he is a really nice guy that just loves trains.  Lucky us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.