Pic du Cap Roux

I devised a walk from Theoule to Anthéor, via the Pic du Cap Roux. This is a view from the summit. We'd get the train back in the late afternoon, the only one running because of the strikes. The day was following a perfect narrative arc, just requiring a final bit of navigation to reach the coast and get to the station at Anthéor on time.

Not to go into details, it then went wrong and we were plucked from our chosen route by forces beyond our control, delivered to a windswept station further down the line, with lots of time to spare. For me, it was like having the last page torn from a book. I'll never now know the ending. It was a horrible feeling. I've been surprised at just how flat I was left feeling afterwards.

This is to remind me that, despite the lack of a satisfactory denouement, it was a beautiful day's walking. I'm developing a growing affection for L'Esterel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.