Luna approves

I don't think I have shared this project here yet . . . . 
Quite some time ago, my son Dallas asked me if I might be able to take his button down shirts that he was recycling and create a quilt out of them instead. Hmmm.... my first thought was that I had never made a real quilt before, just little fabric art "Quilts". But I thought a little more and told Dallas, "YES! I'd love to."

Here you see our cat Luna inspecting the finished recycled shirt "quilt top" while I was photographing it. Next, I need to sandwich fluffy batting in the middle, put backing fabric under, and actually quilt the whole thing together by hand or machine -still debating about that! This has been a learn-as-you-go project for me. I'm very proud I got this far, considering I did not even know how to cut proper patchwork squares before this. 

For the record, Dallas asked me in October, 2017 - if I would do this project for him. It took me many months to research, read, watch videos and actually learn even the most basic quilting skills and then of course, I procrastinated starting!! It was a big leap! I started with a pattern I found that I thought I could actually do. Started cutting his shirts into squares: 4 -1/2" and 8 -1/2" squares, in March of 2019. Slow & steady wins the race??? ;O)  A few more photos in "extras" . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.