WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Vanishing point

Continuing my series on rare atmospheric conditions: this is even more unusual than snow. It's almost never foggy here, but the village has been shrouded in mist, growing thicker as the day went on. We've been by the fire, writing, blogging, and reading. But I'm glad S gave me a nudge to go out and find a blip. I didn't need to go far -- these vines are only a couple of hundred metres from home. I took a mixture of details and wide angle shots and had a hard time choosing, but S voted for this one. He says the focal point shouldn't be centred, but for once I like it better this way.

These relatively young vines are en espalier (trained on wires), making them easier to maintain and harvest. A little way up the road are some old carignan pruned traditionally en gobelet (wineglass shaped). I've blipped them before, here -- almost a year ago.

My second spare blip was rejected for lacking context and being a bit too mystifying, if you don't know what it is! But I liked the water drops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.