Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Memories

We drove in fog to Darent Valley Hospital for my 9.40am ct scan appointment. A very early morning for me as I usually dont rise until 9.30am at the earliest.

All went as planned except for the insertion of the canula. My veins are now virtually non existent and the difficulty in inserting a canula increases with every visit. Twenty minutes and three attempts - and success.

We had a quick look at the history corner in the Main Out Patients department and I was intrigued and saddened by the plaque on the wall.

A little bit of research showed that a high explosive bomb fell on the hospital that was adjacent to the Dartford Workhouse Chapel, (about 2 miles from Darent Valley which was built in 2000). The bomb fell in the early hours of 6th September 1940 and tragically killed 22 patients and the 2 nursing sisters commemorated on the plaque.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.